Study Centre for the Visually Impaired (SZS)

Orientation via Beacons

Every semester, new students begin their studies at the KIT and have to find their way on the campus. Orientation on the campus and in buildings is not easy at first but with the aid of the KIT campus map, the campus navigator and overview plans for buildings within buildings it is still doable for normal sighted persons. For students with a visual impairment this is much more difficult. Blind students learn the most important ways on the campus at the beginning of their studies, such as from the tram stop to the cafeteria, to the SZS and possibly to the relevant lecture hall buildings of their study subject in an orientation and mobility training. However, if these paths are not taken every day, they are difficult to find again at a later stage. Also, the orientation within buildings is difficult, e.g. finding doors to rooms, toilets, ramps for wheelchair users and much more.

The aim of the project is to improve the orientation using Beacons (Small sensors, which communicate with Bluetooth). For this purpose, several beacons with appropriate information are installed on the campus, which can be viewed by all students by means of a barrier-free app. The information mainly contains important information for students with limitations, e.g. the announcement of the floors for the elevator, if this is not yet accessible. If a student approaches a beacon with the app enabled, he automatically receives the available information on his smartphone. As an example, some beacons are placed at the Welcome Desk in the student office in order to simplify the drawing of a ticket number and finding the appropriate switch for processing this ticket.

It also contains information on barrier-free entrances or possible alternative paths through other buildings, basements, etc. for physical restrictions so that students can quickly see if and how their destination is accessible to them.

The project is an interdisciplinary collaboration between the research group Prof. Abeck, Research Group Cooperation & Management (C & M), the Representative for Students with Disabilities and Chronic Diseases, and the Study Centre for the Visually Impaired (SZS).

Project Duration

04.2017 - 03.2018

Finances

Qualitätssicherungsmittel KIT

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Orientierung mithilfe von Beacons

Jedes Semester beginnen neue Studierende ihr Studium am KIT und müssen sich auf dem Campus zurechtfinden. Die Orientierung auf dem Campus und in Gebäuden ist mithilfe der KIT Campuskarte, dem Campus-Navigator und Übersichtsplänen in Gebäuden für Normalsehende anfangs zwar nicht einfach, aber doch machbar. Für Studierende mit einer Seheinschränkung ist dies wesentlich schwieriger. Blinde Studierende erlernen zu Beginn des Studiums die wichtigsten Wege auf dem Campus wie z.B. von der Straßenbahnhaltestelle zur Mensa, zum SZS und eventuell noch zu den relevanten Hörsaalgebäuden ihrer Fachrichtung in einem Orientierungs- und Mobilitätstraining. Werden diese Wege jedoch nicht jeden Tag begangen, sind diese zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt schwer wieder zu finden. Auch die Orientierung innerhalb von Gebäuden ist schwierig, z.B. das Auffinden von Türen zu Räumen, Toiletten, Rampen für Rollstuhlfahrer und vieles mehr.

Ziel des Projektes ist es, die Orientierung mithilfe von Beacons (Minisender, welche mit Bluetooth kommunizieren) zu verbessern. Dazu werden exemplarisch mehrere Beacons mit entsprechenden Informationen auf dem Campus angebracht, welche mittels einer barrierefreien App von allen Studierenden eingesehen werden können. Die Informationen enthalten dabei vor allem wichtige Hinweise für Studierende mit Einschränkungen, z.B. die Ansage der Stockwerke für den Fahrstuhl, falls dieser noch nicht barrierefrei bedienbar ist. Nähert sich ein Studierender einem Beacon mit aktivierter App bekommt er automatisch die enthaltenen Informationen auf seinem Smartphone angezeigt. Exemplarisch soll beispielsweise beim Welcome Desk im Studierendenbüro Beacons zum Einsatz kommen, sodass das Ziehen einer Ticketnummer und das Auffinden des entsprechenden Schalters zur Bearbeitung dieses Tickets vereinfacht wird.

Ebenfalls sind Hinweise zu barrierefreien Eingängen oder möglichen alternative Wegen durch andere Gebäude, Keller, etc. für körperliche Einschränkungen enthalten, sodass Studierende schnell sehen könne, ob und wie ihr Zielort für sie erreichbar ist.

Das Projekt ist eine interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Forschungsgruppe Prof. Abeck, Forschungsgruppe Cooperation & Management (C&M), der Beauftragten für Studierende mit Behinderung und chronischer Krankheit und dem Studienzentrum für Sehgeschädigte (SZS).


Projektlaufzeit

04.2017 - 03.2018

Finanzierung

Qualitätssicherungsmittel KIT